Sluit Filter
Dutch design news website

Zo Zit Dat - Chair collection Stichting Zetel

Start date: 29-01-2011
End date: 17-04-2011
Country: the Netherlands
City: Emmen
Location: Centrum Beeldende Kunst


Featuring chairs of well and lesser known creatives, Zo zit dat offers a look at Dutch chair design.

By Editor / 22-02-2011

During the exhibition Zo Zit Dat or That's how it sits, visitors can admire over 60 chairs from the collection of stichting Zetel (The Chair society).

This collection encompasses outstanding designs by well and lesser-known designers, artists and architects, The selection for this exhibition was made by Mariska van den Burgt, initiator and chair person of stichting Zetel.

The presentation of the chairs in the exhibition rooms of the Centre of Visual Arts Emmen is extremely varied. A number of chairs are set-up as architectural sculptures in the space. Others are grouped according to chair type. The recent love of the rocking chair by designers is quite noteworthy; three were designed in 2010 alone. In this exhibition, the four winners of the Thonet Mart Stamprijs will be presented together for the first time. This prize is meant as an encouragement for designers; it aims to realize innovative chair design for the project and consumer markets.

After some years of relative quiet, stichting Zetel has signaled a rise in the number of extraordinary chairs with matching tables. Thanks to producers such as Ahrend and Lensvelt, chairs by popular designers are becoming more accessible to the general public. Unconventional designers who produce under their own label are getting better at promoting their designs on the internet. Stichting Zetel organizes various projects in the Netherlands, aiming to inform the public about original chair concepts of our time.

Designers 'Zo zit dat':
Angie Abbink, Robin Bara, Benthem Crouwel Architecten, Paul Tames van den Berg,
Wim van den Bergh, Dinie Besems, Sander Bokkinga, Jack Brandsma, Jacco Bregonje,
Bob Brobbel, Lars Cornelisse, Marieke van Diemen, Rob Eckhardt, Titia Ex, Khodi Feiz, Patrice Girod, Rutger Graas, Ellert Haitjema, Melle Hammer, Ineke Hans, René Holten, Ronald Hooft, Francis ten Hove, Richard Hutten, Stan Klamer, Krijn de Koning, Dirk van der Kooij, Egbert Jan Lam, Joep van Lieshout, Jurriaan Molenaar, Maartje Nuy en Joost van Noort, Satyendra Pakhalé, Arjen Pals, Alexander Pelikan, Tijmen Ploeg, Marion Regitko, Chris Ruhe, Tiddo de Ruiter, Marc Ruygrok, Peter Sas, Wouter Scheublin, Scholten & Baijings, Linda Schregardus, Wieki Somers, Marlies Spaan, Ruben Spaargaren, Henk Stallinga, Rik Tuithof, Jeroen Verbrugge, Jorinde Verweij, Ramin Visch, Yvon Visser, Sjoerd Vroonland, Marielle Wichards en Jelmer Zijlstra.

Add to favorites



Additional information

Points of sale



star1 star2 star3 star4 star5

( 1 Votes, average: 5 out of 5)

click to vote

Mail this item

Your favourites

You have no favourites