Sluit Filter
Dutch design news website

Wim Crouwel receives Gerrit Noordzij prize 2009

At a ceremony held at the Royal Academy of Arts (KABK) in The Hague, Wim Crouwel was awarded the Gerrit Noordzij prize 2009 for letter design.

By Editor /asdf 12-03-2009

Wim Crouwel has been awarded the Gerrit Noordzij prize 2009.

This international award for letter design and typography is awarded once every three years by a professional panel of judges to a successful (letter) designer. The designer is judged in three areas: letter design, teaching and publishing. The prize consists of an exhibition and a publication. Crouwel received the prize at a ceremony held at the Royal Academy of Arts (KABK) in The Hague.

The prize is named after Gerrit Noordzij (1931) who taught the Letter Design course for more than thirty years at the KABK. It is an initiative of the Master’s course Type and Media of the KABK in cooperation with the Museum Meermanno in The Hague and under the auspices of the Dr P.A. Tiele foundation. The Type and Media course Letter Design is, together with the course at the University of Reading (GB), the only course in the world where letter designers are trained.

The prize presentation to Wim Crouwel also marks the opening of the exhibition about the work of the previous prize winner, American letter designer Tobias Frère-Jones. Other prize recipients include Gerrit Noordzij, Fred Smeijers and Erik Spiekermann.

Add to favorites



Share this:

Additional information

Points of sale



star1 star2 star3 star4 star5

( 3 Votes, average: 5 out of 5)

click to vote

Mail this item

Your favourites

You have no favourites